Home > Authors >
Philip Pullman


  » His Dark Materials series book read online free

  » The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials #1)

  » The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials #2)

  » The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials #3)

About This Author

Novelist, born in Norwich, Norfolk, E England, UK. He studied English at Oxford and had various jobs before training as a teacher. From 1988 he worked as a part-time lecturer at Westminster College in Oxford, but left in 1996 to devote himself entirely to writing. Publishing works mostly for children, he gained success with his trilogy for young adults, His Dark Materials, comprising Northern Lights (1995, aka The Golden Compass), The Subtle Knife (1997), and The Amber Spyglass (2000). In 2002, The Amber Spyglass earned him the distinction of becoming the first children's writer to win the Whitbread Book of the Year Award. Later books include Lyra's Oxford (2003) and The Scarecrow and his Servant (2004). The Dark Materials trilogy was given a National Theatre production in 2004.

Previous: None Next: J. K. Rowling